Short Term 12

Every year I think I’m going to make a top ten list of my favorite films. I read a lot of film criticism and most critics put out some kind of list highlighting their favorites. Most critics also watch a couple hundred films a year. I don’t have that benefit so the pool I would be drawing from has huge holes. I always start the new year trying to catch up on the big films that I missed. This is one of those films. It’s mid-March and I’m giving up on making a 2013 list, but I’m glad I caught up with this indie release.

This is a really cool film. It tells the story of the 20 somethings who run a short term residential program for “at-risk” youth. The acting is all pretty great and the dialogue is realistic and interesting. I felt a little weepy at times, but the story actually has resolution and some redemption so that makes me feel okay.

Gut reaction: 4.5/5

One film I liked more: One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

One film I liked less: Half Nelson

Leave a comment